Grammar fails to create generator

Oct 25, 2011 at 12:09 AM

Greetings,

I'm relatively new to creating grammars and parsers, though I've worked existing ones before.

I have the following grammar:

public cf text grammar Recipe
{
  options {
    Axiom = "recipe";
    Separator = "SEPARATOR";
  }
  terminals {
    INTEGER    -> [1-9] [0-9]* | '0' ;
    REAL    -> INTEGER? '.' INTEGER  (('e' | 'E') ('+' | '-')? INTEGER)?
            |  INTEGER ('e' | 'E') ('+' | '-')? INTEGER ;
    FRACTION  -> INTEGER ('/' | 0x2044) INTEGER | 0x00BC | 0x00BD | 0x00BE | 0x2153 | 0x2154 | 0x215B | 0x215C | 0x215D | 0x215E;
    NUMBER    -> INTEGER | REAL | FRACTION;
    WHITESPACE  -> 0x0020 | 0x0009 | 0x000B | 0x000C;
    SEPARATOR  -> WHITESPACE+ | ',';
    MEASURE    -> 'cup' | 'cups' | 'teaspoon';
    PREP    -> 'sliced' | 'cubed' | 'drained';
    NOTE    -> '(' [a-zA-Z]+ ')';
    INGREDIENT  -> ([a-zA-Z]+);    
    CR      -> 0x000D;
    LF      -> 0x000A;
  }
  rules {
    fooditem  -> NUMBER SEPARATOR MEASURE? SEPARATOR INGREDIENT SEPARATOR PREP? SEPARATOR NOTE?;
    foodlist  -> (fooditem CR? LF?)+;
    recipe     -> foodlist;
  }
} 

The log displays the following errors:

ERROR: Grammar: In state A expected terminal MEASURE cannot be produced by the lexer. Check the regular expressions.
ERROR: Grammar: In state 13 expected terminal PREP cannot be produced by the lexer. Check the regular expressions.
ERROR: Grammar: In state 17 expected terminal PREP cannot be produced by the lexer. Check the regular expressions.

Why is this? Is it due to the ambiguity introduced by the INGREDIENT terminal? I'm trying to generate a parser which handles ambiguities like this. How can I do this without the generator becoming unable to produce terminal state?

Thanks for any insights into this...

Coordinator
Oct 25, 2011 at 7:28 AM

Hello,

Thank you for your input.